Imagining India


I bought this book “IMAGINING INDIA” by Mr. Nandan Nilekani last week. It was an attempt to kill my boredom during a lonely train journey from Coimbatore to my home. Whatever had been my aim, I would say, my decision was right. I got hold of a book that I had missed reading. This was long due.

As a politically critical citizen (that sounds gr8 na !!), I am interested in  making our country a better place to live and die. His book is an attempt to understand the intricacies of our nation through the history and the present. Throughout his book there is a constant effort to explain things in simple language. The whole book is divided into few Major sections and each section has frequent and relevent sub-headings. I am great admirer of real life works, which automatically implies I get bored of fiction if it lasts for more than a week or so.

After finishing off the first section I decided to write this article because of one reason – “This book shouldn’t be missed by anyone”. From students to professionals, it really doesn’t matter who you are, or what you are doing, this book caters to all Indians. I have never come across, in my short reading history, a book that makes sense of everything going on in our country, making a delicate connection with our past and then continously trying to be critical but not arrogant.

As I go back to read the book and understand its true significance in the present circumstances of our country, I do Imagine an India that would generate millions of jobs for the youth, health care for elders and young, and a country that stands apart in its conviction that human values could transcend geographical boundaries.

One response to “Imagining India

Leave a Reply

