2 states – Chetan Bhagat, the usual story told the usual way


“…Its usual stry. Didn’t intrst me. Not much diffrce. Ya, personl tastes diffr, though…”

That’s how one of my friends replied to my suggestion on reading the book – 2 states.

Now, my take on the book.

This is a story that is all too known, to all of us. A tamil brahmin girls falls in love with a pujabi guy. I am not in a mood to tell you the story plot (though it will not effect the sales of the book), but then Chetan is a master in telling the known story in a way that relates to us. It could be the cult status of Chetan, that attracts me towards his books. Otherwise it could be my low exposure to English “literature”, that makes me like his books. It could also be due to the fact that I am still a college student. But, when I think about it, his books are really “real”.

Though at a superficial level, the book deals with only the difficulties that love marriages (in India) go through (till the finish line), it also questions the very meaning of “falling in love” at some level or the other. I am too immature and boyish enough to find an answer to that, though.

Chetan takes us through a ride. A ride which has little or no intensity at any point in the story (I was expecting some kind of turn around at some point). But, this is the best part of this book. You expect the girl to commit suicide, take some impractical decision, and then you end up finding a girl who is extremely Indian and practical at the same time !

I really liked the plot, for the story tells a realistic plot. It points to a solution, rather than speculate on the impractical and trivial aspects. I would suggest reading it for its simplicity, the realistic approach. But if you are expecting great intensity (melodrama), naa.. this is not for you.

4 responses to “2 states – Chetan Bhagat, the usual story told the usual way

    • I have the book with me..and I have not told the story here..it is from the excerpt that is already published in Chetan’s website.

Leave a Reply

